How to contact us

Dept of Philosophy, Logic and Scientific Method
London School of Economics
Houghton Street, London,



Fax: +44 (0)20 7831 9045

Lakatos Award in Philosophy of Science

Page Contents >

The 2013 Lakatos Award for an outstanding contribution to the philosophy of science, has been won jointly by Laura Ruetsche of the University of Michigan for her book Interpreting Quantum Theories (Oxford University Press, 2011) and by David Wallace of Oxford University for his book The Emergent Multiverse (Oxford University Press, 2012). Each will win a prize of £7500.

The Lakatos Award is given annually for an outstanding contribution to the philosophy of science, widely interpreted, in the form of a book published in English during the current year or the previous five years. The Award is in memory of Imre Lakatos and has been endowed by the Latsis Foundation. It is administered by the following committee: John Worrall (Convenor, LSE), Nancy Cartwright (Durham), Hasok Chang (Cambridge), Kostas Gavroglu (Athens), Philip Kitcher (Columbia), Alan Musgrave (Otago), Michael Redhead (Emeritus, Cambridge), and Elliott Sober (Wisconsin-Madison).

The Committee accepts and responds to nominations, creates a shortlist, and makes the Award on the advice of an independent and anonymous panel of Selectors, who are asked to read and comment on all of the shortlisted books.

The value of the Award is £10,000. To take it up, a successful candidate must visit the LSE and deliver a public lecture. The Award may be shared if there are deemed to be two candidates of equal merit. The Committee reserves the right to make no award should it be decided that none of the shortlisted works meets the level of impact and significance required to merit the Award.

John Worrall
Convenor, Lakatos Award Management Committee

Nomination Procedure

  1. The 2014 Award will be for a book published in English with an imprint from 2009 to 2014 inclusive.
  2. A book may, with the permission of its author, be nominated by any recognised philosopher of science or of a related discipline. The Management Committee is not empowered to nominate books itself but only to respond to outside nominations. The nominator should write to the Administrator outlining the case for the book's being considered for the Award. (These nomination letters should be brief—no more than three paragraphs in length—and will be passed on to the Selectors if the book is shortlisted.)

Nominations must be received by 21 April 2014. All communications should be marked 'Confidential' and 'Lakatos Award' and addressed to:

Tom Hinrichsen
Lakatos Award Administrator
Department of Philosophy, Logic and Scientific Method
The London School of Economics and Political Science
Houghton Street
London WC2A 2AE
United Kingdom



Imre Lakatos